Why I Didn’t Go To Westminster Seminary

The idea of an independent seminary, free to develop theologies without the troublesome oversight of the Church, is a strange development in the Church. A commitment to the teaching function of the Church seems to me to require that those who train our future pastors and theologians ought to be answerable to the Church in a direct way. Most of us don’t have even the option to choose a seminary connected with our denomination. I, for one, will not be able to move to St. Louis to attend Covenant Seminary, so I am forced to choose among the approved seminaries of my denomination, knowing I will come under hightened scrutiny, and I rightly should. Once churches stop putting a seminary’s graduates into pulpits, it’s over for that seminary. Neither churches, nor institutions of learning turn on a dime. A trajectory, once set, is a long time in correcting. ~Neiswonger

About lindsaynbrooks

Lindsay Brooks is co-host of the Apologetics.com Radio Show, and an Elder at Soaring Oaks Presbyterian Church in Elk Grove, CA.

Posted on February 24, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Wow never knew you had a blog but I’m glad I found it tonight!

  2. I think this is an excellent point. Personally I am a member in the EPC (Evangelical Presbyterian Church) and I don’t think they are big enough to have something like this. I wonder if the SBC has any oversight over any seminaries? Also, for those seminaries who have this oversight, what does this oversight look like (say if the board or a professor were getting out of line) ? This topic has a lot of facets.

Leave a Reply

